For the second cooking assignment, we had a bunch of countries to choose recipes from. I worked with a classmate, Linda, and we did Malagasy peanut soup and Buea Coconut Jollof Rice from Cameroon. She has written about the peanut soup in her entry (https://frenchatdaystar.wordpress.com/2017/05/18/the-peanut-stew-of-madagascar/ ) if you want to check that out.

This time, I chose the recipes based on countries that interested me. I’ve always had a thing for Islands so Madagascar had to be where one of the recipes came from… I think Cameroon was a country I knew close to nothing about up until this class so I picked it as well. And it wasn’t disappointing at all!

So, Buea Coconut Jollof is a vegetarian jollof- which basically means it has a lot of vegetables going on. I was a bit doubtful at first because of how many vegetables the recipe suggested I involve in this mix (green pepper, ginger, hot pepper, carrots, tomatoes, onions…) in comparison to the amount of rice (one and a half cups) – I honestly didn’t think it would work out too great- but hey, the recipe is always right, right? So on I went.

buea2 -Photo courtesy of google search

I found it super interesting that no water is involved; simply coconut milk. I couldn’t find coconut milk though, so I mixed coconut cream with water and decided that it was coconut milk. It worked for me. The rice was pretty simple to make though- the vegetables were the first thing to deal with. After that, the rice was added and it basically cooked itself like rice normally does. It took way longer than usual, though.

The rice was nice, I didn’t even use half as much pepper as was needed though. I didn’t think it was necessary. Here is a link to the recipe in case you would like to try it! http://www.food.com/recipe/buea-coconut-joloffe-rice-cameroon-501717

Here’s what it’s supposed to look like, courtesy of google search, and I’m proud to announce that my rice actually looked the exact same way!! I just forgot to take a close up before the class devoured it 🙂

buea rice

Somi Elsie 🙂

