While it is said that eating is a necessity and cooking is an art, then I must confess that Dr. Wandia has truly mastered the art of cooking French food. I was given the task of doing a project on Parisian Cuisine but I never thought that I would actually get to taste the cuisine itself. Having said that, it is evident that  French 124 is the only class in Daystar University, whereby one would be invited to their lecturer’s home for a taste of French Cuisine. As a vegetarian, I almost always eat the same food such as Ugali (Maize flour cooked in boiling water) and Kale upon visiting friends in their homes, but my visit to Dr. Wandia’s home was different and worthwhile as my diet was not only fully catered for, but I actually left her home in a good mood after eating some really good food.

My classmates are all girls and upon reaching Dr. Wandia’s home, we quickly dived in to some really interesting conversations as we always do in class and Dr. Wandia would occasionally leave the kitchen to come and add her own views of the topic discussed in the living room.

IMG-20170522-WA0009
From Left to Right; Shingai, Dr. wandia, Myself, Elsie, Yasmin, Belinda and Caroline
 

The menu for the day was so rich as it was delicious as it consisted of;

  • Gratin Dauphinoise – a scalloped potato dish
  • Spinach Quiche – a spinach, mushroom and egg dish baked in a pie crust with cheese topping
img-20170522-wa0000.jpg
From Left to Right; Gratin Dauphinoise and Spinach Quiche

 

  • Boeuf Bourguignon – beef braised in red wine
  • Ratatouille – a stewed vegetable dish
french-cuisine.jpg
Left to right: Boeuf bourgignon and Ratatouille

 

  • Tarte Tatin-  an upside-down pastry in which the fruit are caramelized in butter and sugar before the tart is baked, which was served with ice cream
img-20170522-wa0003.jpg
Dessert: Tarte Tatin and Ice Cream

 

This is how my classmates’  plates looked like upon serving the food; (below)

IMG-20170522-WA0001
A combination of the menu served on a plate.

 

And this is how my plate looked like halfway through my eating; (below)

IMG-20170522-WA0008
This is a vivid illustration of how much I enjoyed the food.

The hearty meal was the highlight of my day, and after a day was well spent , I simply went back to my hostel to sleep.You guys can check out the awesome blog called ‘Everyday French Chef’ by clicking on this link; http://everydayfrenchchef.com/ and I also found this really informative YouTube video on French Cuisine called ‘French foods Top 10 French Foods’ . You guys can check it out by clicking on this link; https://youtu.be/uPzqI4HDP1g for a look at typical French food and their origin, as it also speaks on Boeuf Bourguignon, Ratatouille and Tarte Tatin. For those who would go ahead and cook the French food I wish you all an early Bonne Appétit.

