CONGOLESE OKRA: “DONGODONGO”

images

When our lecturer told us that we should do an African dishes , i was extremely happy because I was ready to share my favorite dish from my country (Democratic Republic of Congo) . I decided to do a Congolese soup known as “Dongo-dongo”.Which I actually found out  later that it was called Okra.  Okra is used to thicken soup and stews. It can be used fresh, or dried for storage.

I enjoyed cooking this dish because it’s not only my grandmother’s favorite but mine too. I dint go through the hustle of having to goggle the recipe because I knew the recipe by heart. You can cook the okra with meat or fish; I decided to cook with meat.

Here is what you need to make Okra or Dongo-dongo:

images (3)

½ kg meat

2 chopped onions

2 tomatoes chopped.

2 tables spoon of palm oil or any cooking oil. (Palm oil gives the most authentic taste)

1 cup water.

20 okra.

1 cup of peanut butter.

2 chili peppers (optional)

2  maggi standard cubes.

Method:

  1. Heat the oil in a large pan. Saute onions and garlic for a few minutes, then add meat.
  2. Add maggi cubes, okra and pepper. Cook for a few minutes.
  3. Add water bring to boil, cook until tender, stirring often.
  4. Reduce heat, let it simmer then serve.

With all this set and done you are ready to go.

Back in the days, my grandmother says okra was cooked mainly by co wives to see which one will win over the husband’s heart. Okra in nature is slippery, when cooked. So when your okra is more slippery that means you have won and thus you’re the best cook.  Well , I would like to win my husband’s heart in future and so do you . Then start practicing how to cook Okra.

Some of the recipes of how to cook okra or otherwise known in my language as dongodongo.

https://www.greenprophet.com/2013/06/okra-tomato-sauce-recipe/

https://www.google.com/search?q=okra+recipe&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwjMgYKuo_rTAhWCOsAKHTXQDDQQ_AUIBigB&biw=1366&bih=662#tbm=isch&q=okra+tomat

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/food-network-kitchen/okra-with-tomatoes-recipe

allrecipes.com/recipe/204478/roasted-okra/

 

 

 

