Cameroonian Fried Spinach

Ingredients

  • 1 (10 ounce) package baby spinach, rinsed
  • 1 cup fresh mushrooms, steamed and quartered
  • 1 medium onion, fine chopped
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • Garlic powder to taste

Method

Heat the olive oil in a wok, or large frying pan over medium-high heat. Add the mushrooms and onion, and sauté until they are about halfway done. Dump in the spinach, and liberally sprinkle with garlic powder. Fry until the spinach has wilted, about 5 to 7 minutes

cameroonian spinach
https://goo.gl/images/7DQvAY

This was basically one of the easiest meals to make. I substituted the olive oil with my normal cooking oil, (fresh fry) and also did without mushroom. It was unavailable at the moment. The most surprising thing was that salt was not mentioned anywhere in the ingredients. Apparently when the class was sharing the meal everyone said it was tasty. I was tempted to add salt but then again why would there be a recipe?

Banana and Pineapple Salad

Ingredients

  • 2 firm ripe bananas, peeled and sliced
  • 2 firm ripe tomatoes, sliced
  • 1 small pineapple, peeled and sliced
  • avocado, peeled, pitted, and sliced
  • 1 Tablespoon roasted peanuts, chopped
  • 1 can coconut milk

Procedure

  1. Boil the coconut milk until it thickens.
  2. Set it aside to cool.
  3. Pile the bananas, tomatoes, pineapple, and avocado alternately in layers in individual glass dishes.
  4. Top with chopped peanuts and the thickened coconut milk.
  5. Serve cold.

Serves 4 to 6.

Banana and Pineapple Salad
https://goo.gl/images/YGFzqk

Immediately I saw pineapple, I knew this was it for me. I always go bananas just by the mention of pineapples. I enjoyed making the salad. The thing that stood out for me was the coconut milk. I was not sure I would find it especially at our local kiosks in Mavoko (no pun intended). I happen to have bought the last can. I have never used it before in fruit salad.

The first person to taste the salad was our lecturer. My fingers were crossed as I did not know what she would say. I was happy she found it unique so did the class. I served my salad in small party cups in order to have the fruits piled in order.

I discovered a few things about Cameroon:

Fresh fruit is plentiful in Cameroon. The native mangoes are especially enjoyed. Other fruits grown locally and sold in village marketplaces include oranges, papayas, bananas, pineapples, coconuts, grapefruit, and limes.

Meal time customs

At mealtime, damp towels may be passed out to diners (before and after the meal), to wash their hands; Cameroonians eat out of communal bowls. Using their right hands, they dip three fingers into the starchy food—often fufu or a millet dish—and then into the stews or sauces of the meal. It is customary for the men to serve themselves first, while the women wait patiently and the children eat what is left after the adults have finished.

People of Cameroon eat three meals a day. A variety of foods, including fruit, porridge, and boiled plantains, may be eaten for breakfast. Eggs and boiled cassava are also popular choices. Lunch and dinner are likely to feature a starchy dish such as fufu, boiled cassava, rice or millet, generally served with a vegetable soup or a hearty stew.

Meal preparation is very time consuming. Preparation of fufu , for example, can take days. The cassava or yams must be boiled and pounded into a pulpy mass. The preparation of fufu from powdered starch or rice is less complicated, but still requires much stirring. Cooking in the villages generally takes place over wood or charcoal fires, with iron pots and wooden spoons.

 

Read more: http://www.foodbycountry.com/Algeria-to-France/Cameroon.html#ixzz4aGc88Tt3

