I think I’m becoming the meat expert, since I always do the meat dishes for the classes! 🙂

In the previous classes, I’ve done chicken and pork, so this time I decided to try the goat meat. This one, tassot de cabrit, was interesting for me because I’d never tried marinating goat meat in lemon juice. I always assumed lemon was exclusively for chicken.

After marinating the meat, I fried it until it was tender. It was an really interesting taste, but I think I still prefer Kenyan style mbuzi choma. In some of the tassot recipes I found on youtube, the point of the lemon or lime is to kill the very strong scent of goat meat, and yet the scent is actually what I like about mbuzi in the first place. That said, it’s always a great honor and pleasure to make the cuisine from the first republic in the world.

Since tassot de cabrit is a dry dish, I decided to make an accompanying sauce. I settled on sauce ti malice, which has an interesting story behind it:

“Two men, Ti-Malice and Bouki, are good friends. Ti-Malice has meat for lunch everyday and Bouki just so happens to show up at Ti-Malice’s house every day around lunch time. Haitians, being good natured, offer whatever they are eating to their guests. So Bouki winds up sharing Ti-Malice’s meat every day.

One day, Ti-Malice decides to trick Bouki and prepares a very hot sauce for the meat, hoping to deter Bouki from coming back at lunchtime to eat his food. Bouki tastes the meat with the hot sauce on it and runs all over town shouting to everyone ‘Come taste the sauce Ti-Malice made for me’; and that’s how Sauce Ti-Malice got its name.”

Source: A taste of Haiti

Good food always taste great when there’s a story behind it. And the islands, especially Haiti, are well known for their stories.

